• By Jasmine S Agyemang
  • Friday, February 15, 2019

MCSD Teacher of the Year Top Ten honorees have been announced

The Top Ten honorees for Muscogee County’s Teacher of the Year have been announced by the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation (MEEF).

Out of 57 teachers, these 10 finalists are now in the running to become the Muscogee County School District’s Teacher of the Year:

  • Storie Atkins – Columbus High School, 9th-12th-grade math
  • Kunicko Byrd – G.W. Carver High School, 10th – 11th Geometry and AP Statistics
  • Danielle Cooper – Aaron Cohn Middle School, 8th-grade math teacher
  • Katherine Culverson – Arnold Magnet Academy, 6th – 7th-grade math
  • Shalon Gillespie – Blackmon Road Middle School, 7th - 8th-grade math
  • Dacia Irvin – Baker Middle School, 6th-grade math teacher
  • Steven Ring – Mathews Elementary School, 5th-grade math and social studies
  • Kelly Roberts – St. Elmo Center for the Gifted; Multiple subjects in 4th-5th grade
  • Olivia Salgado – Eagle Ridge Academy, ELA and 4th grade social studies
  • Natalie Teasley – Northside High School, 9th-12th-grade Chemistry and Physical Science
All 10 honorees were surprised in their classrooms on Friday, February 15. These teachers will be interviewed by the MEEF selection committee, which is made up of business and educational leaders in Columbus.

After the interviews, the selection committee will choose the top three honorees and those finalists will be observed in their classrooms.
“The selection process allows community leaders an insightful look at what teachers do, day in and day out- in their classrooms, said Marquette McKnight, the Executive Director of MEEF and selection committee member.

One of the biggest benefits of one being named Top Ten is it allows these teachers to apply to be one of MEEF’s Harvard Fellows.
“The Harvard Fellows program is a huge benefit for professional development at the highest level,” Mrs. McKnight said.

The finalists will be honored at the 2019 Teacher of the Year breakfast on March 7. The two speakers at the breakfast will include 2018 MCSD Teacher of the Year Melanie Gouine and the 2018 National Teacher of the Year Mandy Manning from Joel E. Ferris High School in Spokane, Washington.

The 2019 MCSD Teacher of the Year will be announced at the Gala on Thursday, April 25 at the Trade Center. The gala is open to the public and tickets to the Gala can be purchased at RiverCenter Box Office starting March 22nd, for $50 each.

About the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation:
MEEF is a non-profit organization dedicated to fostering educational excellence by recognizing and rewarding innovative and exceptionally effective teachers in the Muscogee County School District. The Foundation has awarded over $2.3 million to teachers in MCSD, through financial incentives in the TOTY program, the MEEF Grant program, the MEEF Endowment Fund, the STEM T3 program and the Harvard Fellows program.


Nothing here yet. Start the discussion!

Post a Comment