• By Jasmine S Agyemang
  • Wednesday, May 08, 2019

MCSD students selected for scholarships from the Community Foundation

Community Foundation of the Chattahoochee Valley Scholarship winnersTwo Muscogee County School District students were selected as winners of two separate scholarships from the Community Foundation of the Chattahoochee Valley.

The foundation selected Maya Allen from Carver High School as the winner of this year’s James Henry Smith and Gladys Manning Smith Scholarship. Caylin Carter from Hardaway High School was selected to receive the Jeanette Williamson Craig & Eugene L. Craig Scholarship.

Allen was surprised with the news in one of her classes at school by the foundation and MCSD Superintendent Dr. Lewis.

“She is driven, ambitious, and passionate about achieving her goals,” says Betsy Covington, president and chief executive officer of the Community Foundation.” We can’t help but think that the Smiths would enthusiastically approve of her selection.”

The Smith Scholarship will pay up to $7,000 annually for four years of education.

Caylin, the recipient of the Craig Scholarship, was also surprised with the news at her school by the Community Foundation’s Board and staff members.

“This scholarship will help Caylin achieve her goal of attending college,” Covington says. “She is a dedicated student who also looks for opportunities to serve her community. We are proud to have her as the 2019 Craig Scholarship recipient and have no doubt she will do great things.”

The Craig Scholarship program awards $5,000 each year and is renewable for up to four years, provided that the student maintains a full-time enrollment during the regular school year and at least a 2.5 GPA.

Congratulations to Maya and Caylin. We wish you both the best in your future endeavors!


Nothing here yet. Start the discussion!

Post a Comment