• By Jasmine S Agyemang
  • Thursday, June 13, 2019

Muscogee County Board of Education recognized as Exemplary Board


Muscogee County School District

2960 Macon Road Columbus, GA 31906

For Immediate Release
Mercedes Parham
Director of Communications and Open Records Officer
Office: (706) 748-2034
Fax: (706) 748-2036

GSBA Exemplary BoardPictured (l-r)
  • GSBA Board Picture: Kia Chambers, Dr. Lewis, Pat Hugley-Green, Naomi Buckner, Vanessa Jackson, and Dr. Edmondson
Columbus, GA –
The Muscogee County School District was recently recognized as a 2019 Exemplary Board during the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) Summer Conference and Delegate Assembly. In addition, during the conference, Board Chair Patricia Hugley-Green was elected as President-Elect.

GSBA has served public education school boards since 1951 by advocating for local control of public education and offering programs and assistance to local boards of education and school systems.

The GSBA Board Recognition Program is a three-tier process to achieve the highest level in board governance with ranking levels of Quality, Distinguished and Exemplary. Exemplary is the highest level of recognition. Criteria for recognition as an Exemplary Board include:

  • Submitting an implemented strategic plan
  • Providing a list of 15 Vision Project recommendations that were incorporated into the Board’s system’s strategic plan
  • Superintendent evaluation to include Superintendent’s goals, evidence and/or data
  • All Board members meeting state training credit requirements and exceeding the annual training requirements by a minimum of three credit hours
The Muscogee County School District Board of Education has also been recognized as a GSBA Distinguished Bard. For more information about the Georgia School Boards Association and its awards programs, click here: GSBA

GSBA officer electionPictured (l-r) - GSBA Officer Election: President-Frank Griffin, Lee County, President Elect-Pat Hugley Green, Muscogee County, Vice President- Bryan Preston, Coffee County, Past President-Katrina Young, Rockdale County, Executive Director-Valarie Wilson, and GSBA Treasurer-Ron Hopkins, Jefferson City