Baker Middle School

Grades 6th - 8th   District 3   533 Students

1215 Benning Drive, Columbus, GA 31903
Phone 706-683-8721, Fax 706-683-8731

School Website:
Bus Details Cafeteria Menu Live Homework Help

History: Baker High School (Columbus, Georgia) was built in 1943 and named for Newton Diehl Baker, Secretary of War during World War I. Baker High served Columbus and Fort Benning for nearly fifty years, producing graduates who excelled in scholarship, athletics, and the arts. The last class of seniors graduated on June 6, 1991. The Baker name lives on at Baker Middle School a few blocks east on Benning Drive. On May 18, 2013; a historical marker was placed at the site of the former school by the Historic Chattahoochee Commission and the Baker High School Alumni Association. The tradition of striving towards educational excellence and serving the community lives on at Baker Middle School.

School Accolades

  • Robotics Team won 3rd place in Muscogee County’s Robotics Competition in the category of Precision and Dexterity
  • 2nd place Southwest Regional Social Studies Fair project winners in Economics
  • 2nd place Southwest Regional Social Studies Fair project winners in Political Science
  • Boy's Basketball Regular Season Champs
  • 400 meter dash City Champion
  • Combined Bake Middle School and Carver High School Orchestra received an overall Superior Rating on their Large Group Performance Evaluation (LGPE).
  • Highest school district median growth percentile for Algebra I
  • 1st, 2nd and 3rd place Audubon Art Contest winners
  • 2018 United Way highest growth in participation and highest monetary contribution
  • Three student art pieces were selected as part of a 23 item, permanent display at CSU's Frank Brown Hall. These pieces were also part of the 2018 Artbeat Columbus

Partners In Education

  • 1-29 IN BN – Military Partners
  • Columbus Times
  • Cusseta Road Church of Christ
  • Fourth Street Baptist Church
  • James Gant – State Farm
  • Southern Power Company – Plant Franklin
  • Impacting Generations

Lamont A Sheffield

Lamont A Sheffield
Bryan D Little
Bryan D Little

Derrielle Morris
Derrielle Morris

Otis Lofton
Otis Lofton

Rachel Vashea Smith
Rachel Vashea Smith

Board Representatives
Vanessa Jackson [District 3]
Kia Chambers [At Large]

Zone Chief