St. Mary's Road Magnet Academy

Grades K - 5th   District 3   414 Students

4408 St. Marys Road, Columbus, GA 31907
Phone 706-683-8841, Fax 706-683-8847

School Website:
Bus Details Cafeteria Menu Live Homework Help

St. Marys Magnet Academy provides each student with a quality education which will allow students to become lifelong learners, enter the work force with necessary skills, and achieve academic and personal potential.

St. Marys Magnet Academy is the home of the Video and Communications Technology Magnet Program. The program is designed to encourage and support academic achievement through innovative uses of video, computer and multimedia technology. The program’s project based learning approach sets the foundation for careers in the video production and broadcast arena. Students apply knowledge and skills to create vivid multimedia projects, produce stimulating computer research projects and create dramatic presentations. Teamwork is developed through participation in showcase events such as the daily news broadcast, St. Marys Technology Day, the Georgia Movie Academy, and the Georgia Media Festival.

In an effort to provide all students with an enriched education, we continuously implement research based strategies into the curriculum and provide students the opportunity to use new technology within the classroom. All classrooms are equipped with a Smart Board, desktop computers, and document cameras. In addition, all teachers have access to SMART Tables, mobile computer labs and SMART response clickers.

School Accolades

"St. Marys Magnet Academy...Where Hard Work Meets Excellence!"

  • Columbus State University Partner School Network - 2016
  • PBIS Emerging School - 2015
  • Bronze Award for Relay for Life - 2015
  • Exceptional Service for Family Service Ministry at Valley Rescue - 2013
  • Title I Distinguished School - 2005
  • Math Team
  • Peer Helpers
  • Safety Patrol
  • Robotics Team
  • Student Council
  • Tennis Team

Partners In Education

  • Unit 1-50 Ft. Benning
  • Valley Healthcare
  • Davis Broadcasting
  • Men's Progressive Club
  • Columbus State University

Latonya Hamilton

Latonya Hamilton
Fredrick D Weldon
Fredrick D Weldon

Board Representatives
Vanessa Jackson [District 3]
Kia Chambers [At Large]

Zone Chief